1st Match – La Celeste 0 – Les Hypocrites 0

Hmmm….where to start???

Apologies in advance for the delay in posting this however I needed longer than usual to figure out what my conclusion on this result really was. Friday was totally awesome and a very emotional draining day. We firstly went down into Cape Town to watch the Bafana Bafana vs. Los Gringos match & the place went NUTS! Once it was all finished we then proceeded to head to Cape Town stadium to watch La Celeste vs. Les Hypocrites play. Whilst the anthem played I couldn’t hold back the tears of joy and excitement, the realisation that the moment I had waited so long for had finally arrived got the better of this big scary teddy bear.

IMG_0458 P1000148

P1000137

P1000146

 P1000153

P1000154 P1000158

P1000162

P1000169

P1000172 

 

 

 

 

 

OK, so my biggest hurdle of the result??? Simple – is this good or bad in terms of qualifying for the 2nd group???

After having watched the first Group A match of Bafana Bafana vs. Los Gringos and seeing the end to end action that was displayed, I always knew that is was going to to hard for the match between La Celeste vs. Les Hypocrites to deliver the same excitement. A lot of the feedback was that this match was BORING and I guess the part of me that enjoys seeing goals would tend to agree however this was always poised to be a challenge of tactics and hence it played out like a chess match.

Les Hypocrites started on the attack and had a great chance but lacked the finishing touch. La Celeste then started to find their groove and failed to convert a great chance of their own. From here on in the whole style of play was centred around Uruguay’s defence and France trying to break through that rock solid defence.

thumbs_up The Good: The Result! I didn’t really take to many good things away from the game apart from the result. At the end of the day we drew against the so-called favourite team in Group A. Could have been worse and in that sense I can see the logic in the tactics deployed by Tabarez however such tactics always come with negative feedback from a viewers perspective. The fact that this was my first ever time watching Uruguay play in a World Cup was the true highlight for me as it represents a life long dream that I got to share with some very special people who I am travelling with but also others who we have banded together with over in the South African branch of La Celeste!

thumbs_down The Bad: First and foremost the formation! The result defends that formation deployed however we looked flaky at times and gave Les Hypocrites way to much room in the midfield which had me totally baffled considering we were playing with 5 midfielders. Nacho also disappointed me, all I remember of his performance is the number of his passes that failed to reach their target and thinking that he must have had his shoelaces tied together because I have never seen a player fall over by himself so many times. So much so that I felt that someone should see if he had been drinking before the game with la hinchada @ Mitchells!!

Now when Raymond “My Mierde Doesn’t Stink” Domenich was not punished or sanctioned in anyway by the referee or FIFA for going onto the pitch during the match to get involved in a discussion between players. The thing that bugs me the most is had the culprit been say someone like Maradona their would have been total outrage by FIFA and the referee would not only have had him sent off but arrested, hung, circumcised, desexed, shaved and placed in max security prison for life!

Also, Thiery “I’m a Cheat and now a hypocrite” Henry tried to claim a handball which hit Godin in the stomach. F$%KING CHEATING MIERDE! I think Lugano’s facial expression says it all, HIJO DE PUTA!

imagen

clap Nightly Notable: Muslera impressed me immensely and has given us all confidence that the controversy that has surrounded our gatekeeper position for so long is no longer destined to drag on as long as the BP Oil spill saga. One small mention has to go to Lugano’s 3/4 length of the field shot, he admitted to actually having a shot and with a few more weetbix he would have really been close. In a way glad he didnt get it or else I would be dead from the celebrations smile_tongue

present Man Of The Match: Easy choice for me, Arrevalo Rios. Considering he had a target of expectation from all los Uruguayos as he was selected against the always dependable Gargano, he played a solid game and gave everything he had. At times he seemed to be like a player in a video game being moved around at a frantic pace, he worked his culo off!

Now we await the match against Bafana Bafana next Wednesday @ Pretoria and here’s hoping we see a more balanced approach of attack and defence. If I would change something it would be to employ a different formation, 3-5-2 just doesn’t allow us to get into our rhythm and we must take it to Bafana Bafana as they will be spurred on by the home crowd advantage. We also need to make sure that our gun strikers are not tampered with prior to the match as seen below. This explains why we couldn’t score!

P1000133

VAMOS URUGUAY  CARAJO, SOS LOS MAS GRANDE!